Washington Post

VPA honors outstanding journalists, sales professionals

The honorees were Scott Matthew of the Courier-Record in Blackstone, outstanding young sales professional of the year; Mitzi Lusk of The Tidewater News in Franklin, outstanding sales professional of the year; Mike Hixenbaugh of The Virginian-Pilot in Norfolk, outstanding young journalist of the year; and Roz Helderman of The Washington Post, outstanding journalist of the year.

Journalists honored with First Amendment Awards

Four journalists were recognized Saturday afternoon for their use of Virginia's Freedom of Information Act to uncover separate scandals in the governor's office and the state's Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control.